The Perks of Being a Wallflower

A while back, I mentioned that one of my favorite books of all time, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, was being adapted for film. I’m thrilled to see that the film has been shot and is set for release this fall. This book was a life-shaping, catalytic moment in my formative years. It’s still one of my favorite books of all time, and some of the best writing I think I’ve ever read.

To add to my excitement about the release, it looks like the book’s author, Stephen Chbosky, directed the film, which bodes well to how it’ll hold up in the new medium. It also boasts some great young actors, including a few of my favorites from other great shows/movies, including Emma Watson, Paul Rudd, and Mae Whitman (of Parenthood fame).

Thrilled. Just completely thrilled.

3 thoughts on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower

  1. I’m really excited for this.

    But, I have to admit that I was a little disappointed that there were no songs from the mix cd (in the book) in the trailer. I hope there are some in the soundtrack. For me, that’s the only music that seems right.

Respond

