Drinking Fountain

Drinking Fountains - 206.365
Somebody on my twitter feed posted this week that a great sign of the grace of God in our lives is if we’re confessing more than we criticize.

Which got me thinking…

Lately, I’ve been often feeling the need to confess for my criticism that’s been flowing from my lack of flow from God.

Man, I need to drink from that fountain. I really don’t know where I get this implied concept that I can do my job without a constant flow from the creator. I mean really. So on one side, I’m thankful that God continues to pursue me enough that I’m even cognizant of the need to confess. And yet far too often I’m trying to function as a decent human, let alone a christian without a direct flow from the source.

Numerous times in the last two months I’ve walked in to meetings that require my best analytical mind, by best creativity, and yet I didn’t bother to take a drink from the fountain. And then I walk out of those meetings wondering what’s broken about our team dynamics.

I am.

Seriously.

Creatives. Me. If we’re not drinking from the fountain of creativity, our creator, chances are, we’re not bringing the best outflow we can. And it’s manifested in attitudes, words without tact, sharpness when kindness should flow.

That song, that we sang about the fruits of the spirit? True. The fruits of the spirit are just that. Fruits of the spirit. No fruit? Not enough spirit. And I have to open the door for the holy spirit in my life. Daily. Momentarily.

My good friend Mark mentioned to me back in December that he had been using YouVersion’s app and listening his way through the bible. I thought this was a great idea. So I started listening to audio of scripture as I read it. It’s actually amazing how helpful it is to use multiple senses to take in scripture. And thank goodness too. I desperately need to keep drinking. Desperately.

How do you drink?

2 thoughts on “Drinking Fountain

  1. “Numerous times in the last two months I’ve walked in to meetings that require my best analytical mind, by best creativity, and yet I didn’t bother to take a drink from the fountain.”

    I hear you. It’s often something I think about long after the fact when I really should be addressing it first. When we are gifted with something like creativity it’s often too easy to take it for granted. I like the idea of taking a moment of prayer before diving into a brainstorm or hours of sketching. Because really, for us, it can sometimes be no different or less challenging than getting up to give an intimidating speech or to confront a difficult situation.

Respond

