Ethiopia Day 5

20111109-080943.jpg

Yesterday was an interesting day. Here are some of my scattered thoughts.

Africa is a different beast. On the surface, development based on teaching each local how to sustain themselves works, but culturally they seem more interested in allowing just a few of them to do the work and sustain off the one that is.

I struggled last evening thinking through why God has me here. I don’t believe that God would have me here all for not. So the question then, is why?

Why God, show me the things you are here?

We visited an orphanage yesterday and played some futbol with the boys in the picture above. That’s just good stuff. Good situation there, the kids are loved and cared for.

We also visited a home where they’re working with women with fistula, and developing the women back into the community. This is working and encouraging.

Random thoughts, still processing.

4 thoughts on “Ethiopia Day 5

  1. As I was praying for you tonight I just kept getting the words, “break my heart for the things that make your heart break” stuck in my head. While you may or may not be praying that I think that is exactly what God is doing with you right now. Made me think of Hillsong’s Hosanna

    “Heal my heart and make it clean
    Open up my eyes to the things unseen
    Show me how to love like you have loved me

    Break my heart from what breaks yours
    Everything I am for your kingdoms cause
    As I go from nothing to
    Eternity”

    I don’t even know if I have a complete thought here but rather just thoughts that I had as I was praying.

    I love you and love what you are experiencing, as frustrating, uncomfortable and hard to decipher as it may be.

  2. I want to encourage you to just BE in each and every moment. Listen for God in each moment. He’ll reveal to you His purpose when He decides to. We’re praying for you guys.

    Also, thanks for leaving so I had time to hang out with your lovely wife last night. 🙂

Respond

